Trash Day: 4/26/16


Thanks for listening to Bubblegum Trash on volunteer radio WEVL 89.9FM and on the web at Today I have a music festival theme. Austin Psych Fest and Beale Street Music Fest is this weekend and I wanted to highlight some of the bands that will be playing there.

Woods starts us off with their new single “Can’t See It All.” A new song from King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard takes us into the next set. Memphis’ own Nots will be playing Saturday at Austin Psych Fest and we hear “Fix” a single from 2014. Brian Wilson will be performing Pet Sounds in Austin. I play “I Know There’s an Answer” from that album. My favorite Brazilians, Boogarins take the stage on Friday evening – we hear “Lucifernadis.”

We will hear a strange, electronic Neil Young song from 1983 called “We R in Control” and I also play 90s favorites from Weezer and Beck all on the bill for Beale St. Music Fest and I round out the playlist with Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith – the sound artist specializing in Buchla syths and playing this weekend in Austin.

Enjoy. Stay Noisy.


Woods – Can’t See It All

Mild High Club – Windowpane

Delicate Steve – Butterfly

The Brian Jonestown Massacre – What You Isn’t

King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard – People-Vultures

Nots – Fix

Drinking Flowers – Love Drug

Sunn O))) – Aghartha

The Beach Boys – I Know There’s An Answer

Boogarins – Lucifernandis

The Arcs – Lake Superior

Weezer – Surf Wax America

Quraishi – Tears

Beck – Lord Only Knows

Neil Young – We R in Control

Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith – Arthropod

Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith – First Flight


Trash Day: 4/19/16


Thanks for pledging during the WEVL Spring Pledge Drive. It’s because of folks like you we continue to bring music your way!

And thanks for listening to Bubblegum Trash on WEVL 89.9FM Memphis and on the web at

Today we have new stuff from supergroup Minor Victories (slowdive, Mogwai, Editors) called A Hundred Ropes – they are promoting their U.S. tour now. Also new songs from Eagulls, Bloody Knives, pinkshinyultrablast, and others. Memphis music from the punk trio Ugly Girls, sixties garage rock from Japan, and we end with french electro/disco from Bernard Fevre (Black Devil Disco Club).


The Dynamites – Tunnel to Heaven

Thee Oh Sees – Corprophagists (A Bath Perhaps)

Ugly Girls – Couch Cushion

Yuck – The Wall

The Sea Urchins – Pristine Christine

the Blake Babies – Temptation Eyes

Eagulls – Skipping

Minor Victories – A Hundred Ropes

Bloody Knives – Static

pinkshinyultrablast- the Cherry Pit

Plastic Flowers – Angel Town

Japanese Breakfast – Everyone Wants to Love You

Swim Mountain – Yesterday

Wire – Outdoor Minor

Units – Bug Boy

The Soft Moon – Die Life

U.S. Girls – Si, I mean Oui

Bernard Fevre – 2043


Trash Day: 4/12/15


It’s Spring Pledge Drive at WEVL volunteer radio 89.9FM and on the web at! Show us some love and make your pledge today so we can continue to bring you music for another forty years!

A pledge of $75 or more will get you the awesome 2016, 40 year anniversary t-shirt! Design above!

Thanks for listening to Bubblegum Trash this morning. The theme for this Spring Pledge Drive is – New Singles for Springtime and we start off with some “addictive pop” from Teleman, new wild sounds from King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard, FEWS has a new single out, and many more to listen to at your spring patio parties or wherever you are tuning into WEVL.


Azura Kings – Cynthia

Teleman – Dusseldorf

The Vryll Society – Self Realization

King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard – Gamma Knife

Deja Vega – Pentagrams

Ulrika Spacek – Porcelain

FEWS – 100 Goosebumps

Sunflower Bean – Easier Said

Damian Jurado – Taqoma

Golden Dawn Arkestra – Clouds

Josefin Ohrn + The Liberation – Sunny Afternoon

Adult Jazz – Eggshell

Pure Joy – Terrorize

Trash Day: 4/5/16

Thanks for listening to Bubblegum Trash on volunteer radio, 89.9FM WEVL Memphis and worldwide on the web at

Today’s playlist is heavy on the electronic music. I have some Memphis electronic noise from the pop ritual, a 70s German dance tune from Der Plan, Black Dice member Eric Copeland teaming up with Animal Collective’s Panda Bear and many more. I start of with some good ole’ lo-fi pop from Mississippi band Dead Gaze.

Enjoy. Stay noisy.


Dead Gaze – Yuppies are Flowers

Dead Moon – My Escape

Creepoid – American Smile

Dead Meadow – Rocky Mountain High

J Fernandez – Memorize Now

the pop ritual – Disappear

Eric Copeland – Cheap Treat (Panda Bear version)

Der Plan – Gummitwist

Echo and the Bunnymen – Stars are Stars

Helado Negro – Dance Ghost

Hookworms – Beginners

Holy F**k – Korock

Eternal Tapestry – Maidenhair Spleenwort